Cambridge Health Alliance logo

Affiliated with

Click here to leave the CHA website and visit the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center website Click here to leave the CHA website and visit the MassGeneral Hospital for Children website
Faculty and Resident Awards
Maren Batalden, MD, MPHMaren Batalden, MD, MPH, received a 2010 Charles McCabe Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching from Harvard Medical School and recognition from CHA for her "Vision and Excellence Across Patient Care, Education and Systems Improvement."

David Bor, MD, received the 2010 Art of Healing Award from Cambridge Health Alliance and Harvard's 2011 Joseph Martin Dean’s Award for the Advancement of Women’s Faculty.

Alphonso Brown, MDAlphonso Brown, MD, received the Massachusetts Association of Portuguese Speakers (MAPS) Manuel N. Coutinho Outstanding Volunteer Award.

Pieter Cohen, MDPieter Cohen, MD, received the 2009 HMS Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching for his work with the Cambridge Integrated Clerkship and was named the 2009 Best Doctor by the Brazilian Journal. He was also recognized as the 2010 outpatient attending of the year by the residents in the CHA Department of Medicine.

Malou Jean-Baptiste, MDMalou Jean-Baptiste, MD, received the Harvard Medical School (HMS) 2013 Charles McCabe Faculty Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

Stefanos Kales, MDStefanos Kales, MD, MPH, was named America's Top Physician in 2010 by the Consumer Research Council of America and received honorable mention for best research paper of 2010 by the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

Rose Goldman, MD, MPHRose Goldman, MD, MPH, received the 2009 Academic Clinical Faculty Teaching Award for work with the Harvard Occupational and Environmental Medicine Residency program "for excellence in teaching, igniting imagination, inspiring hope, and instilling a love for learning."

Elizabeth Gaufberg, MDElizabeth Gaufberg, MD, MPH received the 2010 Arnold P. Gold Foundation National Humanism Honor Society Award through the Association of American Colleges. She also received the 2014 Cliff Barger Mentoring Award from Harvard Medical School.

David Hirsh, MDDavid Hirsh, MD, was awarded the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award from the Arnold Gold Foundation and was named the HMS Class of 2009 Best Clinical Instructor at Cambridge Hospital. He also received the 2010 Anne L. Brodie Medical Education Scholar Award from the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

Rachel Nardin, MD, received the American Academy of Neurology Teacher Recognition Award in 2010.

Barbara Ogur, MD, received the 2011 Tribute to Women award from the Cambridge YWCA.

Rachel Strak, MDRachel Stark, MD, received the the Clinician Educator of the Year for the New England Region by the Society of General Internal Medicine.

Somava Stout, MD, received the 2011 Primary Care Recognition Award for Innovation from Partners Healthcare, Inc.

Steffie Woolhandler, MD, MPHSteffie Woolhandler, MD, MPH, received Harvard's 2009 Cliff Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award.

Leah Zallman, MD, received the 2012 Mack Lipkin Sr. Award for an “exceptional oral presentation" from the Society of General Internal Medicine and a 2012 Health Disparities Postgraduate Fellowship from the Harvard Medical School Center of Excellence.