• Affiliated With

    • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    • MassGeneral Hospital for Children
    • Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital

Academic Council Award

The CHA Academic Council Award was established in 2013 to highlight the value placed on academic excellence and achievement by our institution. The award is meant to recognize members of our community who have made significant contributions to excellence in academic spheres including education, research, scholarship or mentor-ship. One or more individuals may be honored in any given year.

This award for academic excellence is broadly construed to encompass any number of areas of distinction including:

  • superb teaching in any setting
  • design and/or implementation of innovative curricula and/or assessment methodologies
  • design or administration of excellent training programs
  • excellence in supervision or mentor-ship
  • research impact in any domain including clinical, basic science, healthcare systems or policy
  • Scholarly impact (i.e. publications/presentations)

Eligibility, Nomination and Review Process

Anyone within the Cambridge Health Alliance community may nominate a candidate for the CHA Academic Council award. This award is intended for mid-career CHA faculty or staff. Those within 5 years of completing training or in the late phase of their career are not eligible. While individuals at any Academic rank may be nominated, candidates should show appropriate and timely engagement in medical school academic promotion/advancement processes. Close consideration will be given to candidates whose academic work aligns with CHA’s strategic direction. Nominees must be from within the CHA community, and their academic impact must extend beyond CHA.

The Chair of the Academic Council appoints the Selection Committee and chairs its meeting. Each honoree will be celebrated at a reception with the CHA community. Recipients’ names will be inscribed on a plaque prominently displayed in the institution.

Previous recipients (listed below) may not be nominated:

  • 2013: David Hirsh, Lior Givon, Rachel Stark, Karen Hacker
  • 2014: Monica Demasi, Allen Shaughnessy, Danny McCormick, Diya Kallivayalil
  • 2015: Rebecca Drill, Mark McGovern, Sandra DeJong, Kathe Miller
  • 2016: Zev Schuman-Olivier, Jamie Barrett, Rob Marlin, Andrea Gordon

Finalist candidates may be contacted by the selection committee for additional information and/or a copy of their CV. All nominations are due by annually in February. The Academic Award Ceremony is help in late May or June.

For any additional questions, you can email cpd@challiance.org.